How to Sew a Trial and Error, Adjustable-Sized, More Comfortable than Ear Loops Mask

In all the world, the last thing I thought I would ever be posting here might be a face mask sewing pattern or how-to instructions. I’m not really what you would call a “detail” person. Except when it comes to writing. And editing. Unless I’m posting on Facebook or my blog, then I post and then edit. Edit. Edit. Edit. Who knows what version of my story you actually liked on social media. And they don’t have spell check. At least that I know of. Now, Twitter? They are more strict and will not let me, or anyone else, edit even one little bit from the original character-limited post.

I am also not a person who desires to be predictable. I don’t want to be pigeon-holed into ONE way of doing things. I rebel for the sake of rebelling. And hate having to repeat the same procedure more than once in a row. Ever. Boring. I would not be your top choice for a surgeon. Or pilot.

So this all adds up that I am also not the finest seamstress west of the Mississippi. Nor do I pretend to be. So, your final product will probably be at least five times as good as mine. This should give you hope.

Just fair warning: a friend shared this video on my Facebook newsfeed when I told of my proud accomplishment of sewing a basic rectangular curtain. This seamstress named Kay is obviously a kindred spirit of mine.

But here’s why I am doing this: After receiving a benevolent $4 donation at the Wal-Mart checkout line and being encouraged to pass it forward, I volunteered to sew a mask for any student or teacher Facebook friend of mine who needed one. And I also said I could pass along instructions for my latest and greatest creation.

So let’s go. Cut a piece of fabric 7.5” x 21” (for a mask that fits me… this one was actually 23” long so I added some pleats). If you are more delicately petite than me, which very few people are with the exception of children of course, you can probably shorten it up another inch or two… or five. When I made my son’s mask, I cut two 6” x 8” squares. I have made several adult masks from 8” x 8 1/2” squares of fabric. Anything goes. To a point, I guess.

I always leave the top open so you can insert a charcoal filter or coffee filter for even more protection. When adding these accessories, it can feel like a muzzle. Which is good if you are guilty of talking too much like me. With a muzzle on, people can’t understand you and communication becomes pointless. So it really just depends on your goal. Lock up your mouth and nose like Ft. Knox or opt for a light, breezy layer of fabric coverage. I hear plain old control-top pantry hose wrapped around your face does the trick as well. Each to her own. Or his. Which would be rare to see in public. Especially on him. In southeast Colorado.

I talked to a teacher yesterday, and she said that children up to the 2nd grade would benefit from seeing their teacher’s lips when they speak or read. So, if you have some vinyl or even a new clear shower curtain, you could insert a clear square in the middle of the mask. How that’s done is up to you. I haven’t tried it… yet.

Here is my son and me with our finished masks on.

And a side view.

I don’t officially fix my hair anymore. Or put on makeup. Much. And I’m seeing now that he needs a hair cut.

If this still looks like something you want to copy, then read on. If not, I find Pinterest, Google, Etsy and YouTube as useful tools in aiding my homemaking pursuits.

For this project, I am using $1/yard Wal-Mart clearance fabric. Cut the size you desire from my guidance above.

So, whatever size of fabric you decide. Two squares or a one long rectangle. Cut the fabric.

Iron it. And the fold in half lengthwise if you did one rectangle. If you did two squares, stack. Right sides facing each other (pretty and brightest color sides kissing each other in my speak. Kissy, kissy y’all!).

Now, iron the seam for the rectangle. But don’t take a picture when you’re doing this. Like I did. You might burn your fabric.

Next, for the rectangle, pin or clip the top and bottom seams at 1/4” (individually, not collectively as my Mary Kay National Sales Director says). For squares, just do this to the top of both pieces of fabric. You’ll want the pretty side facing away from you. Or kissing the countertop, not looking to the sky. Fold the pretty side back 1/2” and pin.

Now, do the same on the other end. This is the view from space. Or close to it.

Good job! Time for some iced tea. Or whatever. You deserve it. Maybe a movie. TV show. Hallmark Channel productions especially foster a sense of hometown community where you can stay up all night long sewing 500 masks to protect the town from the eminent threat of plague. Or something like that. We come together to get things done, y’all.

Now, walk yourself to your machine. Count this as your daily aerobic exercise.

(Intermission back to kitchen: for my reading glasses. So I can re-thread the sewing machine needle. I know I’m only 21, and my vision is perfect. Just doing this to make you feel better about your aging process.)

Thread the needle. Put the thread in your mouth and spit on it to make it easier. Barb, my 4-H sewing teacher, taught me that one. You’re welcome. This machine has a thread helper but I would have to find a YouTube tutorial to teach me how to use it. And that would be take time. So, old school it is.

Now, sew. This is an up-close view. Start to sew, then use the reverse button a bit and then go forward so it makes a strong hold. Do the same thing again at the end of the line. I am channeling all that I learned from taking and then teaching that college technical writing class. I bet Dr. Jurg would still give me an F. For editorializing. Oh well.

Now repeat with the other end you pinned or clipped. I bought these fun little clips on Amazon, and my fingers have far fewer holes in them now.

Next you’re going to have those pretty sides kiss again. And pin or clip all around. except those ends you just sewed. We’ll leave it open to insert a charcoal filter or coffee filter for extra Covid-19/20/Infinity protection.

Sew the three sides, except the top.

Then, cut the excess from the bottom two corners. But not past where you sewed. Then, you’d just have a hole-y mask. which would be fine if you were planning to have the Pope bless it before you use it. But. That’s not likely. So be careful.

Next, we are going inside out. So to speak.

Use a pen or a pencil to get the corners poked out right.

Now it should look like this. Except with your fabric choice and countertop.

Now for a confession. I’m slightly ADD. I’ve already told you I rarely do anything the same way twice, especially twice in a row. So to keep this “fresh” for me, I had to add the pizazz of the unknown.

My mother-in-law is my opposite. This is a side view of her pumpkin mask pleats. I just pleat however the moment guides me.

So she measured down 2 1/4” for her first pleat (I held my place at that measurement with these clips.

It will fold over 3/4 inch. Does this make sense? I usually do everything all wrong the first time. Or second or third time, too. But no matter.

And you can also notice on this picture that my thumb has healed quite nicely from that untimely incident that jammed wood into my nail while painting exterior house trim. My nail has grown out and has a growth ring like a tree now.

Look Ma! I mean Ma-N-Law! I pleated! And you can, too!

Now, try the mask on you or the recipient or a stand-in. If it’s too big, just pleat some more. I made this mask using 7.5” x 23” which was at least 2” too long. Oops. Just make some more pleats and make it look more like this. Meaning hers.

Adjust if the recipient is a petite English teacher or a long and wide-faced, macho Football coach who used to be a center in the NFL. Listen, people. This is not an exact science. You can either go for the bank bandit look. Or a garden variety lovely maiden who is just trying to keep her mouth covered for mankind’s sake.

Here is me at this stage. Ignore the unfinished vent project in the background. Someone could pay it forward and come finish it for me. I’ll feed you a steak for the effort.

Now sew those pleats in place like a big girl. Or boy.

Here’s how some of our masks compare. And they all work.

Now comes the elastic. I can’t find any smaller than 1” width at our Wal-Mart, and I haven’t had good luck cutting 1” down into smaller widths without it fraying. So, I started using hair tie elastics.

Just a side note here. I made my first four masks using a DIY mask kit from Wal-Mart. I think it was $10 and gave you the fabric, elastic and directions you needed to sew four of them. You could totally do something like that, then just add the strap we’ll make below to make them more comfortable if you’ll be wearing it for longer windows of time.

You could also just order from this talented lady on Etsy. She must be using longer elastic bands than me.

If you are using regular elastic, you can sew over it directly without having to use these anchors. I used some ribbon. But you can also sew your own little squares, rectangles or like the pic above).

Pin or clip and sew to mask.

I just used one holder for children’s masks.

Told ya’ I’m not perfect at this sewing craft.

For this adult mask, I just used one elastic tie on each side. And it didn’t make the pleats function quite right, so I turned down the corners and sewed them.

Now, cut a 13” x 2 1/2” piece of fabric. Either the same fabric as you used for the mask, or one that plays well.

I should probably watch some more YouTube videos, or consult an expert, but here’s how I tried to keep it from fraying. Pin at 1/2” all around and sew.

Now fold in half, pin or clip, and sew again.

Next, you’ll need a 4” long piece of elastic. a button, needle and thread.

Place one elastic tie over the other and pull the strap through. Like threading a Venn diagram.

And sew.

Now sew the elastic onto the inside of the strap.

And cut 3 slits, about 1/2″ long each, in the elastic.

This is what modest slits in elastic look like.

Now, sew a button on the outside of the strap.

And then pick a slit and pull the buttom through it.

Mark has room for his head to grow another 3-5 inches until he gets vaccinated against corona. Or it disappears from our area. He still needs a hair cut. And I guess I should add that like his mother, his head is rather large compared to the general population. When he was born, the doctor said his head was the largest one he had ever delivered. “Me, too!” I said. All that to say, you might want to make your strap length a little shorter. This size won’t fit my petite 7-year-old girl.

The End. Good luck! And share any tips or tricks you discover in the process. I’ll be sure to use them… once.

Leave a comment